It’s Good to Be Back

Hi! I’m Laura. In December of 2007 I started a blog called Twenty Five Days to Make a Difference in honor of my grandfather who passed away earlier that year. While I only expected my close family members to read it, my blog attracted a lot of readers who either supported or actually did what I was doing in their own way. I was grateful for this and for the chance to give back to people who gave me so much. I got some media attention too, and I’m a bit of an introvert by nature, so this kind of took me off the grid for a few years . I never stopped doing service work, but I have kept to myself, reflecting on my time on Twenty Five Days and thinking about how I could bring it back and make the challenge and the difference made even better.

I am a senior in high school now, planning to study art in college–most likely graphic design. I love taking part in my school’s plays and musicals, and I’ve stage managed for several of them. I’m yearbook editor this year, I love  photography and all of my art classes which challenge me but teach me to persevere.

I’m also lucky to have the friends that I do. Like me, many of them make a difference in quiet ways that few people really know much about. They inspire me.

This December, I’m hoping to support others who are  just as interested in making a difference as I am. This is something about blogging at Twenty Five Days that I’ve really missed. I especially hope that I will be able to showcase how others make a difference, and that in turn, this will inspire me to give back in a deeper and more powerful way that I could ever do on my own. For that reason, I will be working with 25 local kids on the ground at the WNY Young Writer’s Studio. This is why I’m calling the challenge 25×25 Days to Make a Difference.

I hope that you’ll participate too, whether you live near or far. I’m really looking forward to reconnecting with people who love to do what I love to do. You can learn more about how to participate here. See you in December!

Leave a comment