The Kickoff to a New Season

Seven years ago tomorrow I made my first post on Twenty Five Days to Make a Difference. I was a fifth grader then, one who was curious and eager to explore the blogging world. I remember being so excited to publish my first post, but at the same time I couldn’t help but be a little nervous. Would anyone really care what I was up to every day?

I’ve got to say, writing this post is a bit like having déjà vu. I’ve planned, and worked and reworked my idea so many times it’s not funny, I know I’m ready. I’m excited to get going and start doing. Yet I still feel that small tickle of nervousness that fifth grade Laura felt. I think it means that I care an awful lot; it’s scary to share an idea with others.

Tomorrow marks a new season of Twenty Five Days, one where I hope I can continue to create the ripple effect I started as a ten year old. While I still plan to share what deeds I do every day with you, I hope this year I can share what others are doing as well. So far, I’ve met with many kids who plan to do a good deed a day this December, and who hope to blog about their endeavors. I’m so excited to see what they write about. I’m also excited to see the work of my friend Anna Kane, who is one of the first older kids to plan to participate. I’m hoping that even if you don’t blog that you’ll get involved too by sharing through social media. I plan to donate $100 to the person chosen from the pool of people who use the hashtag #25x25days and the kid bloggers who write about their good deeds through the holiday season. I hope you join me. Let me know if you do!

 

Leave a comment